The Boghossian Foundation is delighted to announce the exhibition Beyond the Lines, which features the works and research of artists who were Residents at the Villa Empain and whose preferred practice involves the line and drawing.

This exhibition celebrates the ancestral technique of drawing, which has played a pivotal role for artists, craftsmen, and architects alike, and remains indispensable today. The exploration of forms, colours, and their endless variations, while eschewing systematism, lies at the core of the body of work on display.

Whether inspired by landscape or geometry, free or repetitive, the participating artists investigate the myriad applications, scales, and experiences of drawing, which they then present framed, placed on a plinth, suspended, or even created directly on the wall.

Figurative, abstract, or at the intersection of genres, the practices featured here all create depth while playing on the monumentality of the drawing itself. In turn, the pieces reveal the underlying mechanisms of the line, which can represent the contours of the visible or, conversely, trace an invisible architecture.

The artists have been closely involved in presenting their pieces in their respective spaces. Romain Ruiz-Pacouret and Rébecca Konforti created an in-situ work for the project in the form of a mural.

Artists

Ulla Hase, Alaa Itani, Rébecca Konforti, Romain Ruiz-Pacouret, Marine Pagès, Julien Saudubray, Amélie Scotta, Brendan Sullivan Shea, Younes Zarhoni.

The artists residence

The multi-disciplinary and international Boghossian Foundation Residency invites artists of all backgrounds to the Villa Empain. Housed in the former conciergerie near the swimming pool, it provides a unique creative space with a shared studio and living quarters where artists can devote one to three months to pursue their research.

The Boghossian Foundation Residency acts as a laboratory for ideas and contemporary creation, offering artists of every discipline – painters, photographers, video artists, dancers, performers, conductors, etc. – and poets, writers, exhibition curators and scientists, the ideal environment for sharing ideas and fostering encounters. The international mission of the Residency does not exclude the participation of Belgium-based artists, who are welcomed as part of an external residency programme with access to the Studio adjoining the Villa’s gardens.

Curators Louma Salamé
Artists

Ulla Hase, Alaa Itani, Rébecca Konforti, Romain Ruiz-Pacouret, Marine Pagès, Julien Saudubray, Amélie Scotta, Brendan Sullivan Shea, Younes Zarhoni.

The artists residence

The multi-disciplinary and international Boghossian Foundation Residency invites artists of all backgrounds to the Villa Empain. Housed in the former conciergerie near the swimming pool, it provides a unique creative space with a shared studio and living quarters where artists can devote one to three months to pursue their research.

The Boghossian Foundation Residency acts as a laboratory for ideas and contemporary creation, offering artists of every discipline – painters, photographers, video artists, dancers, performers, conductors, etc. – and poets, writers, exhibition curators and scientists, the ideal environment for sharing ideas and fostering encounters. The international mission of the Residency does not exclude the participation of Belgium-based artists, who are welcomed as part of an external residency programme with access to the Studio adjoining the Villa’s gardens.

Curators Louma Salamé

La Fondation Boghossian est infiniment heureuse de présenter l’exposition Beyond the Lines qui réunit les œuvres et recherches d’artistes ayant résidé à la Villa Empain et dont la pratique de prédilection se déploie autour de la ligne et du dessin.

Elle rend hommage à la technique ancestrale du dessin, déterminante pour les artistes mais aussi les artisans et les architectes, qui demeure incontournable. L’exploration des formes, des couleurs et de leurs variations, sans cesse renouvelée, en évitant tout systématisme, est également au cœur du corpus des artistes présentés.

Qu’il soient inspirés par le paysage ou par la géométrie, libre ou répétitif, les artistes réunis examinent les multiples applications, échelles et expériences du dessin, qu’ils choisissent ensuite de présenter encadré, déposé sur un socle, suspendu ou encore conçu directement à même le mur.

Figurative, abstraite ou à la croisée des genres, les pratiques réunies ici parviennent à créer de la profondeur et à jouer sur la monumentalité, à partir du fil ténu du dessin. Les œuvres dévoilent tour à tour la mécanique constitutive de la ligne, qui représente les contours du visible ou au contraire, esquisse une architecture invisible.

Les artistes ont été étroitement associés à la présentation de leurs œuvres dans leurs espaces respectifs. Romain Ruiz-Pacouret et Rébecca Konforti ont réalisé une œuvre in situ pour le projet, sous la forme d’une intervention murale.

Artistes

Ulla Hase, Alaa Itani, Rébecca Konforti, Romain Ruiz-Pacouret, Marine Pagès, Julien Saudubray, Amélie Scotta, Brendan Sullivan Shea, Younes Zarhoni.

La Résidence d’artistes

Pluridisciplinaire et internationale, la Résidence de la Fondation Boghossian a pour objectif d’accueillir des artistes de tous horizons à la Villa Empain. Située dans l’ancienne conciergerie, aux abords de la piscine, elle offre un espace de création unique, sous la forme d’un Studio de travail partagé, et un lieu de vie, dans lequel les artistes logent et poursuivent leurs recherches, lors de séjours de un à trois mois.

Laboratoire d’idées et de création contemporaine, la Résidence est un lieu de partage et de rencontres entre artistes qui pratiquent toutes les disciplines – peintres, photographes, vidéastes, danseurs, performeurs, chef d’orchestres…-, également poètes, écrivains, commissaires d’expositions ou encore scientifiques. La vocation internationale de la Résidence n’exclut pas la participation d’artistes basés en Belgique, qui sont accueillis dans le cadre d’une résidence externe avec l’accès au Studio qui jouxte les jardins de la Villa.

Commissaires Louma Salamé
Artistes

Ulla Hase, Alaa Itani, Rébecca Konforti, Romain Ruiz-Pacouret, Marine Pagès, Julien Saudubray, Amélie Scotta, Brendan Sullivan Shea, Younes Zarhoni.

La Résidence d’artistes

Pluridisciplinaire et internationale, la Résidence de la Fondation Boghossian a pour objectif d’accueillir des artistes de tous horizons à la Villa Empain. Située dans l’ancienne conciergerie, aux abords de la piscine, elle offre un espace de création unique, sous la forme d’un Studio de travail partagé, et un lieu de vie, dans lequel les artistes logent et poursuivent leurs recherches, lors de séjours de un à trois mois.

Laboratoire d’idées et de création contemporaine, la Résidence est un lieu de partage et de rencontres entre artistes qui pratiquent toutes les disciplines – peintres, photographes, vidéastes, danseurs, performeurs, chef d’orchestres…-, également poètes, écrivains, commissaires d’expositions ou encore scientifiques. La vocation internationale de la Résidence n’exclut pas la participation d’artistes basés en Belgique, qui sont accueillis dans le cadre d’une résidence externe avec l’accès au Studio qui jouxte les jardins de la Villa.

Commissaires Louma Salamé