The Boghossian Foundation – Villa Empain will be exceptionally closed on Saturday 13 July from 4 pm. We advise you to arrive for the visit of the exhibitions Josef and Anni Albers and Beyond the lines at 3 pm at the latest. Thank you for your understanding.

As part of the Family Matters exhibition, the Boghossian Foundation invites you to discover the work of Ariane Loze, The Banquet.

The artist, director and actress solicits the public to partake in her play for an evening. Around a table, twelve people chosen from the public each play one of the characters imagined by Ariane Loze. On the plate, as a starter, are the words of one of the characters they are going to play. The actors engage in an unexpected game where strangers come together to create a unique performance. Getting into the mind of someone, leaving oneself for a few moments and inhabiting the psychic space of another person, is what Ariane Loze practices through her art, with her videos. Through this performance, she invites the spectator to do the same and to realise what Arthur Rimbaud first synthesized brilliantly with this brief, contradictory yet splendid formula: “I is another“.

The performance is conceived in echo with the video work The Banquet. As in the video Chez Nous presented in the exhibition Family Matters, the artist diverts and re-enacts the codes of cinema to take a critical look at the structures of contemporary social life.

Hide See all images

La Fondation Boghossian – Villa Empain est exceptionnellement fermée le jeudi 20 juin. Nous vous remercions de votre compréhension et nous réjouissons de vous accueillir dès le vendredi 21 juin et jusqu’au 8 septembre pour la visite de l’exposition Josef et Anni Albers.

Dans le cadre de l’exposition Family Matters, la Fondation Boghossian vous invite à découvrir l’œuvre d’Ariane Loze, Le Banquet.

L’artiste, réalisatrice et actrice propose au public de participer à sa pièce le temps d’une soirée. Autour d’une table, douze personnes choisies parmi le public incarnent chacune un des personnages imaginés par Ariane Loze. Sur l’assiette en guise d’entrée, les paroles d’un des personnages qu’ils vont habiter. Les acteurs se livrent à un jeu inattendu où des inconnus s’unissent pour créer une performance unique. Entrer dans la pensée d’un autre, sortir quelques instants de soi-même et habiter l’espace psychique d’une autre personne, c’est ce qu’Ariane Loze pratique dans son art, avec ses vidéos. A travers cette performance, elle propose au spectateur d’en faire autant et de réaliser ce qu’Arthur Rimbaud a le premier synthétisé génialement avec cette formule brève, paradoxale et magnifique : « Je est un autre ».

La performance est conçue en écho à l’œuvre vidéo Le Banquet. Comme dans la vidéo Chez Nous présentée dans l’exposition Family Matters, l’artiste détourne et rejoue les codes du cinéma, pour poser un regard critique sur les structures de la vie sociale contemporaine.