The Boghossian Foundation – Villa Empain is exceptionally closed on Thursday 20 June. We thank you for your understanding and look forward to welcoming you from Friday 21 June, until 8 September for the visit of the exhibition Josef and Anni Albers.

The Brussels Art Nouveau & Art Deco (BANAD) Festival is a special event that promotes the Art Nouveau and Art Deco heritage of the Brussels-Capital Region. This year again, the Villa Empain is part of the programme and its guides will reveal its fascinating history.

The Villa Empain is a hallmark of Brussels’ art world, and also a remarkable testament to the Art Deco movement. It was built at the beginning of the 1930s by architect Michel Polak under Baron Louis Empain’s initiative. Throughout its past as a private house, a museum, the USSR Embassy, and the eadquarters of Luxembourgish television channel RTL, the Villa has reflected the rhythm of Brussels’ history. Partially destroyed and vandalized, it was abandoned at the beginning of the 1980s. The Boghossian Foundation acquired the Villa Empain in 2006 and began working on its restoration, a process which would take four years. A project simultaneously complex and delicate, the meticulous restoration was carried out with respect to the history of the building and was awarded the Europa Nostra prize by the European Union.

La Fondation Boghossian – Villa Empain est exceptionnellement fermée le jeudi 20 juin. Nous vous remercions de votre compréhension et nous réjouissons de vous accueillir dès le vendredi 21 juin et jusqu’au 8 septembre pour la visite de l’exposition Josef et Anni Albers.

Le Brussels Art Nouveau & Art Deco Festival (BANAD) est un événement exceptionnel mettant en valeur le patrimoine Art nouveau et Art déco en Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. Cette année encore, la Villa Empain fait partie du programme et ses guides conférenciers en révèleront l’histoire fascinante.

Lieu culturel incontournable de la vie artistique bruxelloise, la Villa Empain est un remarquable témoin de l’architecture Art déco, construit au début des années 1930 par l’architecte Michel Polak, sur commande du Baron Louis Empain. Tour à tour maison privée, musée, ambassade d’URSS, siège de la chaine de télévision luxembourgeoise RTL, la villa vit au rythme de l’histoire bruxelloise. Partiellement détruite et vandalisée, elle est laissée à l’abandon au début des années 80. La Fondation Boghossian décide de l’acquérir en 2006 et d’en entamer la restauration qui durera quatre ans. Projet à la fois complexe et délicat, la minutie de la restauration, menée dans le respect de l’histoire du bâtiment est récompensée par l’Union Européenne avec le prix Europa Nostra.